Call for entries: 2021 UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation


Engagement Business Plan Creative Ideas Grant

Location (s):

  • Afghanistan
  • Australia
  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan
  • Brunei
  • Cambodia
  • China
  • Cook Islands
  • East Timor
  • Fiji
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Japan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kiribati
  • Korea, North
  • Korea, South
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Laos
  • Macau
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Marshall Islands
  • Micronesia
  • Myanmar
  • Nauru
  • Nepal
  • New Zealand
  • Niue
  • Online
  • Pakistan
  • Palau
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Philippines
  • Samoa
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • Sri Lanka
  • Tajikistan
  • Thailand
  • Tonga
  • Turkmenistan
  • Tuvalu
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Vietnam


Submissions are now being accepted for the 2021 UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation, further strengthening the cultural foundations of sustainable development in the region.

The Awards programme sets standards for transformative heritage practice for Asia and the Pacific by recognizing excellence in conservation and outstanding new design in heritage contexts.


In 2020, UNESCO introduced the “Special Recognition for Sustainable Development” and an updated set of Awards criteria to acknowledge more prominently the role and contribution of cultural heritage to sustainable development within the broader framework of the 2030 Agenda.

The UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards acknowledges exemplary efforts by individuals and organizations to restore or conserve structures, places and properties of heritage value in the region. It encourages other property owners to undertake conservation projects within their communities, either independently or by seeking public-private partnerships.

Since 2000, the Awards have recognized 275 winners from 22 countries for their understanding of place, technical achievement, and significant sustainability and policy impacts at the local, national and regional levels. By recognizing these projects, the Awards have contributed to changing the conversation about what constitutes cultural heritage, who has a stake in its stewardship, and how cultural heritage can contribute to the sustainable well-being of cities, societies and the environment.


The deadline for the receipt of materials is 31 July 2021.

Award Categories

Winners will be announced in December 2021 in the following categories: Award of Excellence, Award of Distinction, Award of Merit, Award for New Design in Heritage Contexts and Special Recognition for Sustainable Development.

The Award for New Design in Heritage Contexts is given to newly built projects that demonstrate outstanding design that is well integrated into historic contexts. Submissions of completed new design projects that enrich existing heritage settings are encouraged. Building annexes, as well as new extensions, new buildings, new public spaces and new structures, such as bridges, are all eligible for consideration.

The Special Recognition for Sustainable Development recognizes projects that demonstrate noteworthy achievement in the Awards criteria and have a significant impact in contributing to sustainable development. Projects that are submitted to either the any category are eligible for this recognition.

Opportunity is About:


Candidates should be from:

Description of Ideal Candidate:

Eligibility Criteria

Eligible projects must have been completed within the last 10 years. Houses, commercial and institutional buildings, historic towns and villages, archaeological sites and cultural landscapes, for example, are all suitable for entry.

How to Apply

Entries for the 2021 Awards programme must be submitted to UNESCO Bangkok before date, using an official entry form, a description of the project in the official format, and drawings and photographs in hard and softcopy formats.

Submit Your Project

The 2021 Awards is now open for entry submissions. Each entry must be submitted with the following documentation in full by 31 July 2021.

  • Completed entry form
  • Completed project description (using official format only, including title page)
  • Occupant comment form(s)
  • Owner consent form
  • Drawings, A4 format
  • Photographs (before conservation – in process – after conservation – in use / current state)
  • CD/ USB Drive (including PDF entry dossier, high-resolution files of all photographs and drawings submitted)
  • Rights authorization form (copyright for drawings, illustrations photographs)


Deadline: July 31, 2021

Cost/funding for participants:

Find your Dream Opportunity Abroad!

Search from 5389 opportunities in 189 countries